Luxury Camping under the “Five Stars”…

One thing you should know about me…I’m not a camper.  

However, seeing the breathtaking photos of the Clayoquot Wilderness Resort in British Columbia, Canada, complete with fully furnished luxury tents, on-site spa, daily yoga, guided activities and gourmet cuisine, it was definitely time for me to reconsider.

Clayoquot Wilderness Resort

Clayoquot (pronounced “Cla-kwhat”) is an enclave of 20 great safari-style canvas tents, spa and dining tents, lounge tents and a timber wood cook house where Executive Chef Tim May whips up “modern natural cuisine” all day long. The whole experience is highly personalized with each day’s activities designed around each guests’ interests.

Resort Transfers

Flying 20 miles by seaplane from Tofino, Vancouver Island landing in the mouth of the Bedwell River, in the Clayoquot Biosphere Reserve, guests are greeted by resort managers John (a former music industry exec) & his lovely wife, Adele by horse drawn wagon. It was the most welcoming and fun “airport transfer” I have ever experienced!

I was quickly settled into my own luxury zip-up tent complete with an Adirondack-style bed and plush down duvet, thermostat controlled propane wood stove, antique dresser, rugs and oil lamps– no phone or TV.

Inside my luxury tent

Did I say I wasn’t a camper? I definitely take it all back!

The resort is a discreet campground for the rich and famous, with repeat guests including heads of movie studios (nearby Vancouver is considered Hollywood North), inconspicuous wealthy types, celebrities and musicians all looking to get back to nature while being pampered in the meantime.

I was privately told an A-list actress had just reserved the entire resort a few days before, but it was all very hush-hush, and no names were revealed (later People magazine confirmed it was Scarlett Johansson’s wedding to Ryan Reynolds.)

I spy my first black bear!

My fabulous stay was filled with all sorts of fun including horseback riding on “Red” through the Canadian wilderness spotting my first black bear, river kayaking, relaxing yoga, and endless gourmet cuisine.  

Endless Gourmet Treats

Endless Gourmet Treats

Other guided activities guests can enjoy include archery, whale and bear watching, lake fishing, clay shooting, mountain biking and cooking classes.

Clayoquot Wilderness Resort is open May 20-September 30, 2010; there are three, four and seven day all-inclusive packages from $4,750.00 CAD per person. http://www.wildretreat.com

Follow me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/LuxeTiffany

One Comment on “Luxury Camping under the “Five Stars”…

Leave a Reply

